Bali - hard landscape training group - Waste of time, money and food?

General banter, tradesmen, recommendations and warnings, surplus materials, humour and owt else!
Tony McC
Site Admin

Has anyone any experience of the so-called training offered by the Hard Landscape Training Group (HLTG) operated by BALI?

I've been asking for information on progress for 6 months and heard NOWT. I even emailed the alleged organiser, Kath Walker, and I've not even had the courtesy of a reply even though she was full of good intentions and had big plan for me and the website when the scheme first kicked off back in the spring, but since then....naff all.

Back at GLEE in September, I spoke with the Bradstone team that were subsidising some of the training days, and even they seemed uncertain as to what was happening.

Has this turned into yet another complete bollocks, just as the Interpave/Interlay scheme did? I won't be suprised if it has because the powers-that-be, who know f-all about laying paving, are more interested in their own careers rather than providing the training that our trade desperately needs if we're to raise standards and provide a skilled workforce for the future.

So: I'm looking for feedback. Have you been on a training scheme organised by the HLTG? If so: was it any good? Have you even heard of the HLTG? Would there be demand for a genuine, quality training course if it was to be properly organised and supported by one or two of the more progressive-minded manufacturers?

I'm now providing training aids to a dozen or more colleges, universities and county councils that teach hard-landscaping - I'm sure this could be extended to existing contractors and used to help train young'uns coming into the trade at 16-21 years of age. Is there any interest?

Look at it this way: I can't be any worse than the useless twits that have run the training schemes up to now!
Site Agent - Pavingexpert

mouldmaker