Sunken garden and pond

Foul and surface water, private drains and public sewers, land drains and soakaways, filter drains and any other ways of getting rid of water.
Simon B

Hello,
I have taken it upon myself to excavate a sunken garden and pond (remember Blue Peter garden ??) in my townhouse garden - and I am a novice at these things (too ambitious maybe!). The area is in the centre of the garden and away from the house. I have dug a trench around the area to be paved to build a retaining wall but I am a little unsure wether i should incorporate an element of drainage (maybe a gulley all around the area to hold standing water ?) How would you tackle this situation and would you incorporate some kind of land drain ??

i would very much appreciate your help

84-1093879891

With a sunken garden, unless you're on very free-draining ground, you need some sort of drainage at the lowest point to prevent it flooding. This drainage will need to be connected to the SW system, a ditch/stream, or to a reliable, working soakaway.

However, with a pond within the sunken garden, then the drainage point should be an overflow system, that prevents the water in the pond rising above a certain level. Again, you need to consider the outfall point.

Is the pond at the lowest point within the sunken garden, or is it, effectively, a raised pond in a sunken garden?

Simon B

thanks for responding so quickly. The pond is sunken within the sunken area.
I am thinking of making a gulley around the sunken area which would be filled with shingle/hardcore. I agree with you about a drain away/ overflow from the pond and I could install an overflow pipe out to the gulley area
The soil is heavy (clay-ish) but from last two days downpours it didn't seem to be retaining water (even in the lowest part of the pond)

I welcome your thoughts and advice

84-1093879891

Would the base of this gravel-filled gully be lower than the the base of the sunken garden, though?

Simon B