Sawn sandstone gone black

Patio flagstones (slabs), concrete flags, stone flags including yorkstone and imported flagstones.
DNgroundworks

Hello, last summer i laid a patio in sawn sandstone, jointed with GFTK VDW 815. It is the same job that i posted about last year, It has since turned black and the client, understandably is not very happy.

Im not involved with rectifying it and am just providing a little guidance to the architect that is.

The stone was literally pulled out of the ground, sawn and immediately laid. The flags have been recently taken up and fresh stone laid from the same quarry, it is to be jointed this week with the 815. The client is insisting that it is sealed, as the quarry reckon that'll stop it going black, im not so sure. Anyway, i am wondering can you apply a sealant on top of the 'sheen' left by the 2 part resin, and if so what sealant?

I have little experience of sealants and have always advised the client against them, but this one is adamant.

Architect is sending pictures over shortly.

Regards, Dan.

Tony McC
Site Admin

Is this lichen, Dan? I'm not sure how else a sandstone can turn black.

The vexed question of whether to seal then joint, or joint then seal keeps cropping up. There are pros and cons to both approaches, as you'd probably guess!

Pre-sealing helps minimise any risk of the selected jointing product (whichever it is) stainiong the pavement surface BUT....the open joints are a nuisance and can swallow expensive sealant if it's applied with, say, a roller.

Jointing before sealing helps minimise loss of sealant and allows the whole of the pavement to be treated in one fell swoop, but because most jointing compounds require plenty of water during application, there will often be a minimum 3-7 day delay between jointing and then sealing, which means the poor contractor might not get paid for that bit longer.