Sandstone supplier, type, and sealing - Queries from a diyer

Patio flagstones (slabs), concrete flags, stone flags including yorkstone and imported flagstones.
Alex1357

I'm nearly there with the ground preparation before I lay some sandstone slabs.

I have a couple of questions in relation to the type of sandstone.

1) I plan to order the sandstone from a local supplier, Sandstone Supplies in Warrington. I've been and had a look at the slabs, and they seem to look very good. However, being a DIYer, I'm no expert. Has anyone used them?

2) I plan to buy sawn rippon, I believe this is the same as the camel stone. Is this a hard, low maintenance stone?

3) I've read hundreds of differing opinions on sealing- I've read that sawn sandstone must be sealed compared with riven. Is it really necessary with a sawn rippon or kandla grey?

Thanks,
Alex

Tony McC
Site Admin

1 - I live just outside Warrington. I wasn't overly impressed with that particular stockist.

2 - it's what I call a mid-range stone: not as awful as Mint or Rainbow; not as reliable as Kandla Grey.

3 - Again, it's a mid-point stone: it can fare reasonably well (with regular maintenance) if left unsealed, whereas pre-sealing would minimise installation stains. Sealing post-installation is practically impossible at this time of year due to the damp, but there are a handful of good water-based sealants that may be possible to use just now.
Site Agent - Pavingexpert

Alex1357

In reference to point 1, was it the setup or the quality of the stone? Would you recommend Cheshire sandstone more so?

Tony McC
Site Admin