New to this o - Starting up

For the discussion of hand tools, power tools, operated and non-operated plant, and all sorts of kit associated with the paving and drainage trades
safcftm

Hi all, ill try to keep this as short and to the point as possible and ill apologise if i dont come across very knowledgeable but im just starting out so bare with me. I was laid off from my job a few weeks ago which isnt uncommon in the industry im in (and the current economic climate) However this time ive been off double the length of time i normally am, with bills/holidays to pay for ive decided that i cant go on like this forever, which has lead me to this forum.

I was online looking for ideas and inspiration on what to do, and taking the good points from my old job and trying to see what type of new business i could set up based around that. I came to the conclusion that it is the right time to become my own boss, and carry on in a van locally. The main thing that caught my eye on youtube was the sky vac gutter cleaning service ? I dont know how much you know on here about that, it looks good, but whether it could pay all the bills i wasnt 100% sure. Which then lead me to gutter/fascia cleaning, and then inevitably drive way/patio cleaning and resealing.

Id just like some information & suggestions if possible on this type of work. Ive noticed the same company who make sky vac also offer a range of patio cleaners, the one that caught my eye is the "Honda Slip Stream Pro 12 with 18" Surface Cleaner" for £1150+vat From what ive looked at so far it looks a good mid sized cleaner. Any suggestions on other good cleaners out that that i could look into?

Also as you lot will be a lot more clued up than me on this, it seems a lot of people dont go for having there drives sealed? is this true ? further from that, what type of sealents work best for you? Ive read that its best to go for material spesfic sealants intead of a all in one jack of all trades sealant? is this true.

:laugh: