Block paving  (concrete edgers after)

All forms of block paving, brick paving, flexible or rigid, concrete or clays, new construction or renovation
loudog

Hi Guys

I have seen many people screed their grit sand than lay the pavers, including their edger course. They then cut everything in and concrete the edgers after. Is this bad practice?

rxbren

If you mean just a hunch on the side then yes

I've always before stone up set edgings/blocks on concrete and haunch as i go

lutonlagerlout
Site Admin

yes mate,but it generally means they wont be short of type 1 or grit sand
edgings first is the correct way
LLL
"what,you want paying today??"

YOUR TEXT GOES HERE

Tony McC
Site Admin

Restraining edges courses Right and Wrong ways
Site Agent - Pavingexpert

lodge

As an amateur I have always done edges first on concrete but all the paving companies round my way dont bed the edges they just haunch them, they look great when new as the edges and main body of paving are perfectly flush with each other, if done the correct way its not easy as an amateur to get the main body of paving to compact down to the exact same level of your edges when they are on concrete, I guess this is where experience comes in.

rxbren

You just have to allow few mm for compaction.
Haunching in the side does not last sure its quicker but its not a proper restraint and will fail sooner rather than later. There is a lad near me advertising at £75 m2 not including muckaway and from the pictures I've seen is just a haunch more than likely just sharp sand and cement comes with a ten year warranty but will they be going in a few years let alone 10

lutonlagerlout
Site Admin

I prefer to use a proper 150x50 flat top edging set first
not as quick but a proper job to my mind
LLL

YOUR TEXT GOES HERE

rxbren

I'm with you on that but it is far quicker than laying blocks on concrete

seanandruby
Site Admin

Is it about speed, or quality ???
I'm more the take your time do it once sort of worker :;):
sean