Help with young business

General banter, tradesmen, recommendations and warnings, surplus materials, humour and owt else!
Filthy Slab

Hello Gents

Have been in business on my own now for a short while paving, groundworks, general construction etc.

Was wondering if there's any advice such as accreditations, approved installer registration schemes that are a must to join that have boosted incoming work that you've experienced?

Does having credit accounts with paving suppliers bring the cost down for materials compared to retail prices? It just seems other firms are able to do the work cheaper and I'm often left thinking "How are they making money?"

I'm currently a sole trader serving domestic clients at the moment and there's only me and a lad but want to start a limited company in April, up my public liability (is only for 1 million currently) and maybe register for VAT in an attempt to seem like a more serious company to potential commercial clients. Will these things help?

It has been effing hard work so far with nothing but ongoing expense in relation to buying tools and small plant etc.

If any of you have been in my shoes and can give some pointers I'd be most grateful

Thanks!
Should've been a farmer!

lutonlagerlout
Site Admin

some time bigger firms get better trade rates because they do more business with suppliers
if you do 20k a month with someone they will give you better rates than someone who spends £1000 a month

also reputation is all

I point blank refuse to bodge anything and over the years this has helped me long term (some short term pain from lost work though)

never buy work I.E. a sprat to catch a mackerel

and try not be be worried about talking big numbers to people

the biggest patio job I have priced was 28k if you say it quick it doesnt sound that bad
and he had it done
cheers LLL
"what,you want paying today??"

YOUR TEXT GOES HERE

Filthy Slab